top of page

The Dave Brown Cup - A Brief History


Of the many traditions in the Northwest Soccer Program, none come close to the annual playing of the Dave Brown Cup.



Who was Dave Brown?

Simple answer... a Northwest Soccer Legend.  Dave was a 2002 graduate of Northwest.  One of the top high school players in the state of Missouri his senior year, Dave held several program records - Most Points in a season (82) and most assists in a career (50).  Dave's top goal scoring season was 2001 when he hit the net 28 times.  He was an All-State and All-Metro selection.  




What is the Dave Brown Cup?

The Dave Brown Cup is an annual 3v3 soccer tournament that takes place the last night of our High School Boys Elite Camp.  Over the years we have added the Luke Wittrock Cup to the boys futures camp and the Lord Jarnagin Cup to the futures girls camp. 




Where Legends are Made

What started out as a tiny cup screwed to the top of 2x4 has morphed into one of the most coveted championships in all of Soccer.  The winners of the cup are enshrined forever in sharpie marker on the backside of the cup.  Here is a brief history of the DBC.

2008 - Idea of Dave Brown Cup is concieved 

2009 - The first playing of the Dave Brown Cup

Champions - Dan Jinson, Zach Fortner, Matt Nichols

2010 - Michael Puglisi, Andrew Kaup-Breeden, Dylan Lee

2011 - Cameron Hegger, Luke Wittrock, Justin Nahlik, Cory French

2012 - Gino Bono, Luke Wittrock, Nick Mayer

2013 - New Block of Wood is created, Luke Wittrock Cup is formed.

Champions - Alexander Al-Amami, Jarrid Hamilton, Craig Hamilton, Mitchell Lacy

2014 - Mitchell Lacy, Logan Brown, Tony Pupillo, Garrett Priester

2015 - First Girls Team enters the competition, reaches championship.

Kyle Mikes, Clayton Meyer, Kevin Gregorc, Vasilius Kolios

2016 - New Block of Wood is created, Lord Jarnagin's Cup is formed.

Champions - Alex Wigge, Drew Wekkenborg, Kyle Brauch, Cameron Brown

2017 - Damage to cup is suffered during celebration, cup no longer has right arm

Jordan Schaper-Loukes, Austin Jerger, Spencer Holt

2018 - Logan Heil, Christian Hasty, Aedin Seiter, Kody Kretzer

2019 - Christian Hasty Rule is adopted

Champions - Brandon O'Dell, Alex Wigge, Joe Noah, Tyler Rodgers

2020 - New Block of Wood is added, Cup is played in a torrential downpour

Champions - Cooper Dutton, Trey Echols, Phillip Grimes, Dominic Pupillo

Cup was stolen by Jordan Owens and Alexa Davis following the tournament, they later returned.

2021 - Tyler Finder, Luke Licare, Luka Kolios, Caden Grither

2022 - Gabe Terry, Stephen Pryk, Luke Licare, Liam Russell

2023 - Alex Drexler, Gage Pytlinski, Grant Guethle, Louie O'Malley


Two Time Champions:

Luke Wittrock - 2011, 2012

Mitchell Lacy - 2013, 2014

Alex Wigge - 2016, 2019

Luke Licare - 2021, 2022


Brothers on the Cup:

Tony Pupillo (2014) and Dominic Pupillo (2020)

Vasilius Kolios (2015) and Luka Kolios (2021)


All-State Players on the Cup:

Gino Bono, Nick Mayer, Jarrid Hamilton, Mitchell Lacy, 

Clayton Meyer, Brandon O'Dell, Tyler Finder, Stephen Pryk

bottom of page